I am gentle with you

I am gentle with you

as with bees

the sharp smell of flowers

as to the bird’s tired wings

a swinging branch

as gold

I fall on your lids

with a smile

I chase away thoughts – stinging wasps

this night

has given you to me

the vast night

with my hair strewn in disorder over canvas

you are

clear like the moon

you shine

in my cold sky

I pray to you

what religion is this

where they worship the lips

of the curved god of dawns

ah religion

magnificent blasphemers

we are to one another

a close four-cornered world

Halina Poswiatowska

Leave a Reply

